Weird, Comfortable, Proud

1st of October, 2016

22:40

I’ve always been told to behave accordingly. As a kid, I had a hard time doing so because I knew I was different – in a way that was weird for others. Basically I became a breeding ground for discrimination. Luckily, though, I was surrounded by people who genuinely loved me for who I was, people who changed me for the better, didn’t try to turn me into someone I wasn’t.

received_1167064916684028.jpeg

Today I share to you my usual outfit, the days where giving fucks is a no. Cami and vintage maroon skirt topped with white sneakers. Now, I usually don’t do it, but for this outfit I tucked the cami in (looked way better and gave out a stronger feel), kind of making it look like a dress. As for the facial get-up, I kept it simple and minimal – I like things natural; I’m especially proud of my naturally curly brown hair. To not make it look overly aggressive though, I topped it off by fixing half of my hair up in a sort of loose tie and bringing in a pair of glasses to soften the look. Then again, you could always lose the denim jacket and glasses in other occasions to give a classy-sassy aura.

received_1167064996684020.jpeg

I bought the cami from Surplus, skirt and denim jacket are  from a local thrift shop, and white slip-on sneakers from Payless.

So, this is me. And I am proud to say that I love myself for being who I am despite the fair share of flaws. Well, I also appreciate my flaws, of course, wouldn’t be myself without them. The thing about loving yourself though is that people have a sort of misconception about it, vain and all that.

img_20160901_094653.jpg

Thing is, loving yourself isn’t about being pretentious. Loving yourself is about respecting yourself, that even though you are not perfect, you are going to try and get better every day to improve yourself even if it means falling short of it. Loving yourself is all about being you, respecting yourself while respecting those around you. I mean, come one, if people are free to express themselves, other people should be free to judge, right? Besides, at the end of the day, what’s really important for you to keep going is based on how you see the world and not how the world sees you. To you who’s reading this, I tell you do be the same. Don’t be afraid to be different and love yourself– it’s what makes you stand out. Own up to it, and be fabulous.

Xoxo, Celina

2 thoughts on “Weird, Comfortable, Proud

Leave a Reply

